White LullabyGirl

Loreth Anne White, The Lullaby Girl, Montlake

Detective Angie Pallorino's past made her a cop. Now her past could kill her. Book 2 in the Angie Pallorino Series, a gritty, northern noir procedural set on Vancouver Island.

Delany HarktheHerald

Vicki Delany, Hark the Herald Angels Slay, Penguin Random House

Santa’s summer vacation plans turn deadly in this festive mystery from the author of Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen and We Wish You a Murderous Christmas.

Wilkshire Moscow

Nick Wilkshire, The Moscow Code, Dundurn Press

In Moscow, the truth can be a dangerous commodity.

Dube ForsakenMan

Marcelle Dubé, The Forsaken Man, Falcon Ridge Publishing

It’s been a hard winter and Chief of Police Kate Williams longs for a quiet Spring. What does she get instead? The theft of valuable bull semen from the local vet and increasingly dangerous vandalism at a construction site.

Danna Lament

Jen J. Danna, Lament The Common Bones, Jen Danna

Forensic anthropologist Matt Lowell doesn’t go looking for death. But when one of Matt’s students suspects the skeleton hanging in a research lab is actually from a murder victim...

Kerr Framed

Wayne Kerr, Framed, Imajin Books

After surviving ten years in prison for a murder she didn't commit, former homicide detective Reggie Swann, wants to return to her old life.

Bruce GhostWriter

Alison Bruce, Ghost Writer, Imajin Books

Jen has to deal with two kinds of spooks: spies and ghosts. But which one is trying to kill her?

Kong ToxicCraft

Debra Purdy Kong, A Toxic Craft, Imajin Books

Who knew that the elderly knitters at a Christmas craft fair would take their rivalry so far that someone could die?

Arnold PowerStruggle

Carolyn Arnold, Power Struggle, Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc.

Detective Madison Knight investigates the murder of the man who killed her grandfather, and she fears the Russian Mafia is behind it.

Barclay PartingShot

Linwood Barclay, Parting Shot, Doubleday Canada

From New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Linwood Barclay comes a new, standalone blockbuster thriller that spins off from the events of the explosive Promise Falls trilogy.

Duncan MuchAdoAboutMurder

Elizabeth J. Duncan, Much Ado About Murder, Crooked Lane

Costume designer Charlotte Fairfax has another murder on her hands as she prepares for the Catskills Shakespeare Theater Company's production of Much Ado About Nothing.

Kent FoldedDreams

Michael Kent, Folded Dreams, Mezzo Publications Inc.

It’s bad publicity for the city when the businesswoman of the year is murdered execution style. Officials want the case solved fast.

Latest Events

Dubro, James

James R. Dubro
Investigative journalist/Documentary TV producer/Crime writer/Bookseller


James Dubro has been a well-known crime-writer (on organized crime and policing), documentarian, and author for the past three decades. He has published five bestselling books, including Mob Rule and Dragons of Crime (both about crime in Toronto),  and helped to produce many major television documentaries, including the famed CBC-TV’s Connections series on various aspects of organized crime as well as programs on organized crime for CITY-TV (Rough Cuts and Witness). He also co-authored the definition of organized crime for the Canadian Enclyclopedia.

James is the (twice) past president of the Crime writers of Canada as well as the winner of the CWC’s Derrick Murdoch award for his tenure as the Arthur Ellis Awards chair.

He is a contributor to magazines as diverse as Canadian Business, Icon, Hamilton Magazine, Xtra, Toronto Life, and NOW.


Winner, ANIK and Gemini for Best Documentary for Connections (1977-79)
Shortlisted, Gemini for Best Documentary for The KGB Connections (CBC, 1983)
Centre for Investigative Journalism award for best investigative article for “Life inside the Mob” (Toronto Life, 1985)
Shortlisted, Arthur Ellis Award for Best True Crime, 1988, for King of the Mob (Viking/Penguine)(co-authored with Robin Rowland)
Shortlisted, Arthur Ellis Award for Best True Crime, 1992, Undercover: Cases of the RCMP’s Most Secret Operative (Octopus)(co-authored with Robin Rowland)




Elwood, Elizabeth

Elizabeth Elwood


Elizabeth Elwood is the author of To Catch an Actress, A Black Tie Affair and The Beacon and The Agatha Principle and Other Mystery Stories. She is also a playwright whose plays have entertained audiences all across Canada. Born in England, Elizabeth lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Selected Bibliography

  • Shadow of Murder:  A murder mystery play in two acts.  First performed - June, 2011.
  • Renovations: A comedy in two acts. Elihu Entertainment, 2007; first performed – August, 2004
  • Casting for Murder: A murder mystery play in three acts. Elihu Entertainment, 2007; first performed – November 2000


Short Story Collections:


The Agatha Principle and Other Mystery Stories: The Beary Mystery Series. iUniverse, 2012

“…there is something about the stories and the characters that keeps you turning the pages…. I find Elwood's serial short mysteries strangely compelling….”—Barbara Kay, National Post

“Tales well told… and the biggest draw is reading about the interesting and complex characters to be found in the Beary family.” Jan de Grass, The Coast Reporter


The Beacon and Other Mystery Stories:  The Beary Mystery Series. iUniverse. 2009

“Smart plotting and a strong sense of place define this collection.  The beautiful settings and genuine personalities will charm.”  Kirkus Discoveries.


A Black Tie Affair and Other Mystery Stories: The Beary Mystery Series. iUniverse, 2008

"Well-crafted stories which will delight mystery fans." — Kirkus Discoveries

“Another fine production of the Beary family … I found great enjoyment reading the stories.  Original and evocative.”—Barbara Kay, National Post columnist.

elwood-catchanactress To Catch an Actress and Other Mystery Stories: The Beary Mystery Series. iUniverse, 2005



Website: www.elihuentertainment.com.

Emery, Anne


Anne Emery


Anne Emery is a graduate of St. F.X. University and Dalhousie Law School. She has worked as a lawyer, legal affairs reporter, and researcher. Apart from reading and writing, her interests include music, philosophy, architecture, travel and Irish history. She lives in Halifax with her husband and daughter.

She is the author of the Collins-Burke mystery series.”


 www. anneemery.com









Books by Members