arthur-200 The Arthur Ellis Awards

for Excellence in

Canadian Crime Writing

Submissions open September 1, 2015

Submissions close December 15, 2015*

The Arthur Ellis Awards, established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada's official hangman, are awarded annually by the CWC in the following categories.

For published works:

Best Crime Novel

Best Crime First Novel

Best Crime Novella (3-yr pilot)

Best Crime Short Story

Best French Crime Book(Fiction and Nonfiction)

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book(Fiction and Nonfiction)

Best Nonfiction Crime Book


For unpublished authors:

The Unhanged Arthur Award  

for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel

*Submissions close for Unhanged Arthur Award, October 15, 2015



The Arthur Ellis Awards are for CRIME WRITING, and are not restricted to mystery writing. Crime-writing encompasses far more than the traditional whodunit. The crime genre includes crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, and thriller writing, as well as fictional or factual accounts of criminal doings and crime-themed literary works. If you are not certain that your submission qualifies as a crime book or story, please contact us at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it




Guidelines & Deadlines: Published Books and Stories


Guidelines & Deadlines: Manuscripts by Unpublished Novelists



Shortlist Events - April, 2015


Awards Banquet - May 28, 2015



Crime Writers of Canada gratefully acknowledges the support of the following sponsors:

cbccanadawrites-col dundurn_full_logo_black
shrig_batt_logo carp


Crime Writers of Canada would like to thank everyone in the Canadian publishing community

for making the Arthur Ellis Awards such a success through the years. 


Click here for this year's entries.