Blechta, Rick

Rick Blechta


Rick Blechta has been a musician all his life, and it shows in his writing. He brings a musician's viewpoint to the thriller genre in much the same way Dick Francis brought the expert horseman's eye. The results are “most entertaining” to quote the Regina Leader Post.

All of his novels have been praised for the “insider’s knowledge of the music world which he injects into his plots.” (Canadian Book Review Annual) The Calgary Herald said in a review of his fifth novel, When Hell Freezes Over: “If this is the future of crime writing in Canada, it’s a bright one indeed.” His previous novel, Cemetery of the Nameless, was a finalist for the Arthur Ellis Best Novel Award in 2006.

His 2008 release is A Case of You, garnered some pretty impressive critical praise. The Hamilton Spectator said: “This is a tale of deceit, deeply buried pain and harsh reality. The realistic finale is a challenging moment and is an impressive piece of writing. A satisfying novel that is a must-read for my 2008 list.” And from the Sherbrooke Record: “A Case of You is Rick Blechta’s strongest book to date...a compelling tale that reaches from Toronto to New York to the secluded mountains of California, carrying the reader along effortlessly in his best novel to date.”

Fall 2012 sees the publication of The Fallen One, his first full-length novel in four years. Set in the opera world and taking place in Paris, Toronto and Montreal, the story concerns a multi-talented soprano. Only one thing is standing in the way of Marta Hendriks’s career…her dead husband.

Rick has been very active in CWC, holding every executive position, including president for two terms (from 2005 to 2007). He also twice edited the organization’s directory of members’ works, In Cold Blood; handled all production and design duties for CWC’s infamous cookbooks, Dishes to Die For and Dishes to Die for...Again; and was co-editor and designer of the newsletter, Fingerprints. In 2000, the CWC presented him with the Derrick Murdoch Award in recognition of his contributions to the organization.


Selected Bibliography

  • The Fallen One,  Dundurn Press, Fall 2012
  • Orchestrated Murder, Orca Book Publishers, 2011
  • A Case of You, RendezVous Crime, 2008
  • When Hell Freezes Over, RendezVous Crime, 2006
  • Cemetery of the Nameless, RendezVous Crime, 2005
  • Shooting Straight in the Dark, McClelland & Stewart, 2002
  • The Lark Ascending, Castlefield Press, 1993
  • Knock on Wood, Castlefield Press, 1992



  • Winner, Crime Writers of Canada Derrick Murdoch Award, 2000
  • Cemetary of the Nameless, Finalist, Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel, 2006




Books by Members