2020 Winners

Crime Writers of Canada presents the

2020 Arthur Ellis Awards for

Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing



Best Novel sponsored by Rakuten Kobo with a $1000 prize

Michael Christie, Greenwood, McClelland & Stewart

The Best First Novel with a $500 prize

Philip Elliott, Nobody Move, Into the Void Press

Best Novella sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $200 prize

Wayne Arthurson, The Red Chesterfield, University of Calgary Press

Best Short Story sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $300 prize

Peter Sellers, Closing Doors, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Best French Book

Andrée A. Michaud, Tempêtes, Éditions Québec Amériques

Best Juvenile or YA Book sponsored by Shaftesbury with a $500 prize

Tom Ryan, Keep This to Yourself, Albert Whitman & Company

Best Nonfiction Book

Charlotte Gray, Murdered Midas: A Millionaire, His Gold Mine, and a Strange Death on an Island Paradise, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

The Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript sponsored by Dundurn Press with a $500 prize

Liz Rachel Walker, The Dieppe Letters


Media Release

Click here for past finalists and winners.



Award Sponsors

Crime Writers of Canada offers sincere thanks to our award sponsors...

  Mystery Weekly  
  RakutenKobo horizontal RGB 
   Shaftesbury Logo 2C RGB  

Crime Writers of Canada would also like to thank everyone in the Canadian publishing community for making
the Arthur Ellis Awards such a success through the years.