2016 Arthur Ellis Awards for


Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing




Best Novel:

Peter Kirby, Open Season, Linda Leith Publishing

Best First Novel:

Ausma Zehanat Khan, The Unquiet Dead, Minotaur

The Lou Allen Memorial Award for Best Novella*:

Jeremy Bates, Black Canyon, Dark Hearts,
Ghillinnein Books

Best Short Story:

Scott Mackay, The Avocado Kid, Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine

Best Book in French:

Luc Chartrand, L'Affaire Myosotis, Québec Amérique

Best Juvenile/YA :

Stephanie Tromly, Trouble is a Friend of Mine, Kathy Dawson Books

Best Nonfiction:

Dean Jobb, Empire of Deception, Harper Collins Publishers


The Dundurn Unhanged Arthur for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel:

Jayne Barnard, When the Flood Falls




*The Lou Allin Memorial Award of $200 for the Arthur Ellis Novella Category

Sponsored by the 2011 Bloody Words Conference Committee, this award will be given in honour of Lou Allin.  Lou was a board member of CWC, a co-chair of the 2011 Bloody Words Conference, an award-winning writer, and a mentor to many.  This award is particularly fitting, as she was the winner of the first Arthur Ellis Novella Award.  We miss you dearly, Lou.






Guidelines are available in the AWARDS section of this website.