Crime Writers of Canada presents the

2020 Arthur Ellis Awards Shortlists for

Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing


Best Novel
Sponsored by Rakuten Kobo with a $1000 prize

Michael Christie, Greenwood, McClelland & Stewart

Ian Hamilton, Fate, House of Anansi Press

Nicole Lundrigan, Hideaway, Penguin Random House Canada

Marissa Stapley, The Last Resort, Simon & Schuster Canada

Loreth Anne White, In the Dark, Montlake Romance


The Best First Novel with a $500 prize

Philip Elliott, Nobody Move, Into the Void Press

Denis Coupal, Blindshot, Linda Leith Publishing

Nicole Bross, Past Presence, Literary Wanderlust


Best Novella
Sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $200 prize

Wayne Arthurson, The Red Chesterfield, University of Calgary Press

Barbara Fradkin, Blood Ties, Orca Book Publishers

Brenda Chapman, Too Close to Home, Grass Roots Press

Melodie Campbell, The Goddaughter Does Vegas, Orca Book Publishers

Devon Shepherd, The Woman in Apartment 615, Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine


Best Short Story
Sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $300 prize

Y.S. Lee, In Plain Sight, Life is Short and Then You Die, Macmillan Publishers

Peter Sellers, Closing Doors, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Zandra Renwick, The Dead Man's Dog, Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine


Best French Book

Louis Carmain, Les offrandes, VLB Éditeur

Andrée Michaud, Tempêtes, Éditions Québec Amériques

Martin Michaud, Ghetto X, Libre Expression

Guillaume Morrissette, Le tribunal de la rue Quirion, Guy Saint-Jean Éditeur

Félix Ravenelle-Arcouette, Le cercle de cendres, Héliotrope


Best Juvenile or YA Book
Sponsored by Shaftesbury with a $500 prize

Liam O'Donnell & Mike Dean, Tank & Fizz: The Case of the Tentacle Terror, Orca Book Publishers

Jo Treggiari, The Grey Sisters, Penguin Teen

Tom Ryan, Keep This to Yourself, Albert Whitman & Company

David A. Robertson, Ghosts, HighWater Press


Best Nonfiction Book

Katie Daubs, The Missing Millionaire: The True Story of Ambrose Small and the City Obsessed with Finding Him, MacClelland & Stewart

Kevin Donovan, The Billionaire Murders, Penguin Random House

Debra Komar, The Court of Better Fiction, Dundurn Press

Vanessa Brown, The Forest City Killer: A Serial Murderer, a Cold-Case Sleuth, and a Search for Justice, ECW Press

Charlotte Gray, Murdered Midas: A Millionaire, His Gold Mine, and a Strange Death on an Island Paradise, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd


The Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript
Sponsored by Dundurn Press with a $500 prize

B.L. Smith, Bert Mintenko and the Serious Business

K.P. Bartlett, Henry's Bomb

Max Folsom, One Bad Day After Another

Liz Rachel Walker, The Dieppe Letters

Pam Barnsley, The River Cage



The winners will be announced across Canada on Thursday, 21 May.


  Click here for past finalists and winners