Crime Writers of Canada presents the

2020 Arthur Ellis Awards for

Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing



Best Novel sponsored by Rakuten Kobo with a $1000 prize

Michael Christie, Greenwood, McClelland & Stewart

The Best First Novel with a $500 prize

Philip Elliott, Nobody Move, Into the Void Press

Best Novella sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $200 prize

Wayne Arthurson, The Red Chesterfield, University of Calgary Press

Best Short Story sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $300 prize

Peter Sellers, Closing Doors, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Best French Book

Andrée A. Michaud, Tempêtes, Éditions Québec Amériques

Best Juvenile or YA Book sponsored by Shaftesbury with a $500 prize

Tom Ryan, Keep This to Yourself, Albert Whitman & Company

Best Nonfiction Book

Charlotte Gray, Murdered Midas: A Millionaire, His Gold Mine, and a Strange Death on an Island Paradise, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

The Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript sponsored by Dundurn Press with a $500 prize

Liz Rachel Walker, The Dieppe Letters


Media Release

Click here for past finalists and winners.