Callway, M.H.

callway-mhM.H. Callway

M. H. Callway is the pen name of Madeleine Harris-Callway. Her critically acclaimed debut novel, Windigo Fire, was a finalist for the 2015 Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel. Margaret Cannon, the crime fiction reviewer of The Globe and Mail, called her “a writer to watch”.

Madeleine’s short crime fiction has been published in several anthologies and magazines. In 2015, her story, “The Ultimate Mystery”, was short-listed for the Derringer Award and in 2012, her tale, “The Lizard” won the Bony Pete Award.

In 2013, she and 14 friends founded the Mesdames of Mayhem: a collective of leading Canadian women crime writers and editors. Their debut anthology, Thirteen, which she co-edited, garnered nominations for both the Arthur and Derringer awards.

An avid cyclist, runner and downhill skier, Madeleine has participated every year in the Toronto Ride to Conquer Cancer since its inception.



  • Windigo Fire, Seraphim Editions, 2014

Short Stories:

  • “Glow Grass” in 13 O’clock by the Mesdames of Mayhem, Carrick Publishing, 2015.
  • “The Ultimate Mystery” in World Enough and Crime, Carrick Publishing, 2014
  • “The Lizard”, Crimespree Magazine, Summer Issue 2013 and reprinted in Kings River Life Magazine, August 2014. Winner of the Bony Pete Award.
  • “Amdur’s Cat” in Thirteen by the Mesdames of Mayhem, Carrick Publishing, 2013
  • “Incompetence Kills” in EFD1: Starship Goodwords, Carrick Publishing, 2012
  • “The Dog on Balmy Beach” in Going Out with a Bang by The Ladies Killing Circle, Rendezvous Crime / Dundern Press, 2008
  • “Christmas in Alice” in Blood on the Holly, Baskerville Books, 2007
  • “The Widows and Orphans Fund” in Futures Mystery Anthology Magazine, March 2007
  • “Kill the Boss” in Silver Moon Magazine, January 2006 and reprinted in Mouth Full of Bullets, September 2007


  • Finalist, Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel, 2015
  • Finalist, Derringer Award for Best Long Story, 2015 for “The Ultimate Mystery”
  • Finalist, Unhanged Arthur Award, 2012
  • Winner, Bony Pete Award, 2012 for “The Lizard”
  • Finalist, Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Award, 2009
  • Winner, CWC’s Golden Horseshoe Award, 2005 for “Kill the Boss”




Books by Members