

2020 Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing, Winners Announced

The annual Arthur Ellis Awards by Crime Writers of Canada recognizes the best in mystery, crime, and suspense fiction and crime nonfiction by Canadian authors.

Thursday, 21 May, 2020---- Mike Martin, Chair of Crime Writers of Canada, is pleased to announce the winners for the 2020 Arthur Ellis Awards.

Best Novel sponsored by Rakuten Kobo with a \$1000 prize Michael Christie, Greenwood, McClelland & Stewart

The Best First Novel with a \$500 prize

Philip Elliott, Nobody Move, Into the Void Press

Best Novella sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a \$200 prize

Wayne Arthurson, The Red Chesterfield, University of Calgary Press

Best Short Story sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a \$300 prize

Peter Sellers, Closing Doors, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Best French Book

Andrée A. Michaud, **Tempêtes**, Éditions Québec Amériques

Best Juvenile or YA Book sponsored by Shaftesbury with a \$500 prize Tom Ryan, Keep This to Yourself, Albert Whitman & Company

Best Nonfiction Book

Charlotte Gray, Murdered Midas: A Millionaire, His Gold Mine, and a Strange Death on an Island Paradise, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

The Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript sponsored by Dundurn Press with a \$500 prize

Liz Rachel Walker, The Dieppe Letters

About Crime Writers of Canada

Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organization designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers. Our members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing authors. Past winners of the "Arthurs" have included such major Canadian authors as Gail Bowen, Stevie Cameron, Howard Engel, Louise Penny, Peter Robinson and Margaret Atwood. -end-

For more information about the awards, please contact: Ludvica Boota, Arthur Ellis Awards Manager, arthur ellis@crimewriterscanada.com For more information about Crime Writers of Canada, please contact: Alison Bruce, Executive Director, ed@crimewriterscanada.com